Love Wins

History was made today. Gay marriage was legalized in America, and #LoveWins is being broadcast across the country. Except love isn’t in the air for everyone. If love wins, then there must be a loser in this celebration. And unfortunately, it’s the people who devote their lives to a God of love that have been the backbone behind the backlash. Christians, this is a letter to us. I pray that we read this and it challenges the fibers of our mind and heart.

(Disclaimer: I’m not hating on every single Christian. Please just read this and hear me out.)

I am a Christian. I’ve devoted my life to God, and I use my life to show others the beauty of Christ so they’ll fall in love as I did. I don’t succeed every day, but neither do you. With that aside, let’s dig into today’s news.

Plenty of my people on my Twitter are posting things like:

“This country needs Jesus now more than ever.”

“I pray that Jesus is coming back soon.”

“This nation is broken and needs you.”

Or some other tweet along those lines. I actually agree with all of those tweets, but I believed them before today. And I’ll believe them long after today. Actually, we can stretch these tweets from just this country to the entire world. The whole world needs Jesus. It always has, since the first drop of sin coursed through its veins. But let us tackle the event that has many Christians conflicted.

Homosexuality is a sin. This, I cannot argue. It even says so in the Bible!

1 Corinthians 6:9-10 (ESV) “Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.”

Yes, there it is. Homosexuality is definitely a sin. Reading that verse, however, condemns everybody I have literally ever met. That includes this scrub behind the keyboard. I’ve had sex before marriage. I’ve taken what I shouldn’t have before. I’ve been stingy and greedy with my money. I haven’t been drunk, but you better believe I’ve sinned according to this passage.  Without context, this verse condemns most of us. However, context is key. The very next verse is our redemption.

1 Corinthians 6:11 “And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and in the Spirit of our God.”

Isn’t that just amazing? Through all of my stupidity and vanity, I’m washed and sanctified. That’s pure joy, and I’m cheesing just typing this out. Thank you God for cleansing me.

But how do we respond to gay marriage being legalized? Well, we let love win. We follow Jesus’ example. As Christians, we are supposed to create relationships with people and love on them. That includes people who don’t believe in the same thing as you, who don’t like the same teams as you, and who look different than you. Love is our answer. Love those who have been persecuted, just as Christians were. And when you find yourself judging others, just ask yourself. Have you ever lied? Have you ever cheated? How is their sin greater than yours? And when you find the answer, keep up the fight. Love wins.

But hey, we had our pitchforks out today! Here’s something we as Christians should be very alarmed about. Let’s visit Matthew 19 for some context.

Matthew 19: 3-9 (ESV) And Pharisees came up to him and tested him by asking, “Is it lawful to divorce one’s wife for any cause?”  He answered, “Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female,  and said, ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’?  So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”  They said to him, “Why then did Moses command one to give a certificate of divorce and to send her away?”  He said to them, “Because of your hardness of heart Moses allowed you to divorce your wives, but from the beginning it was not so.  And I say to you: whoever divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another, commits adultery.”

Ouch. Keep reading though!

The disciples said to him, “If such is the case of a man with his wife, it is better not to marry.” But He said to them, “Not everyone can receive this saying, but only those to whom it is given…. let the one who is able to receive this receive it.”

Why don’t we tackle the divorce epidemic in this country instead? This is just one of several times Jesus reprimands divorce. The divorce rate probably isn’t the 50% it’s always being quoted as, but it’s still too high. Let’s direct the attention on divorce, and providing our future generations with non-fractured families.

Read the gospels, and learn what He says. Read in context. Always think before speaking. And trust me, #LoveWins. It always has and it always will.

Leave a Reply

