Moments

I tend to think of life in small, quotable moments. As a social media coordinator, this bodes well for my professional life. One of my better talents, professionally speaking, is my ability to highlight moments from an event and create engaging content for the target audience. This knack has led me to a number of professional opportunities at a relatively young age, and I’m proud of that. However, this tendency to process life in bite size quantities can distort the importance of great moments and the time spent between them.

The past 365 days has been an incredible ride. I graduated from college with honors, cranked three home runs in one softball game, got engaged to a wonderful lady, got married to the same wonderful lady, and obtained a career job. These moments are highlights of my life, not just this past year. These are the moments you’ll see posted on my Instagram with clever captions. These moments are the pinnacle of my human achievements, the ones I deem worthy enough to be shared and liked by twiddling thumbs.

It’s interesting that I subconsciously regard these moments as the ones worthy of posting. “Staging” these photos took time and effort. These mountaintops of my achievements are the only thing that break the cloud of my private life. The peaks are posted for everyone to see and share, yet it’s the space between the mountaintops that explain who I am. The lifetime of writing, studying, and test-taking, the years I spent in batting cages, the months of difficult conversations and growing pains of my relationship – these are the events that created my attractive moments. The difficult, dirty work in the valleys of my life created the beautiful mountaintops that are shared on my social media today.

Make no mistake, these moments did exceedingly well as social media posts. I generated comments and likes at an unprecedented rate, and received my reward in full. However, viewing these moments as the pinnacles of my life is a misguided rule at best. Only celebrating the peaks of my life and in turn, disregarding the difficult, unattractive growth periods in between, paints a false picture of who I am. I enjoy great moments like anyone, but understanding the importance of hard times gets lost in a prideful shuffle.

Those who know me best understand that I view daily life as the greatest gift – it’s an everyday invitation to do something. That’s an opportunity to create something or make someone laugh. It likely won’t be the most liked or shared moment to post, but it’s the most important. These great accomplishments followed by the time spent between the peaks prove it.

Leave a Reply

