Color

Okay, hi I’m Demetrous.

You can call me Dee because that’s the grade I got in all my writing classes. I’m not talented at it but here we are. That was the preamble. Congrats, you made it.

Recently I was asked, “If you could be a color, what would it be and why?” That sat with me for a long time and I didn’t really have an answer. If I’m being honest, I didn’t even take the question seriously.

“Color? Like my favorite?”

Now my favorite color is yellow and when I sat and thought about the different ways to approach this strange question, I realized it was deeper than that. Yeah you can say Red because it’s your favorite or Blue because it’s calming, that’s all fine and dandy, but I chose a color for its meaning and learned more about myself in the process. Ultimately I chose yellow. Yeah, yeah I know yellow is my favorite but that’s not the point here. I’m yellow because in most instances yellow is exuberant and jovial when used. I won’t go into my whole life story but I can say I’m diagnosed with depression and for me, feeling happy and excited constantly is my ultimate goal.

Yellow is also a warning in nature, it’s so bright that it catches the attention of others. Now I don’t want to warn anyone, because I’m not some poisonous or dangerous animal but I do want to make a statement that I’m bright, that I stand out and that I’m an individual that is a culmination of other’s ideals and thoughts, mixed with the original ideas I’ve created.

Now I ask you after I’ve spouted nonsense about myself, what color would you be? Whether it’s because of its visual appeal, what it means to you or shows you what you want to be. Think about it. Be a color to add life to your own and other’s canvases and all that metaphorical jazz.

What color are you?

Leave a Reply

